Texas Health HEB Critical Care Unit Receives Excellence Award  
from National Nursing Organization


BEDFORD, TEXAS, May 21, 2014 – The Critical Care Unit (CCU) at Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Hurst-Euless-Bedford has been awarded a Silver-level Beacon Award for ExcellenceTM from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. Texas Health HEB’s CCU is the only unit in Northeast Tarrant County, and one of only 18 units in Texas, that has earned this national recognition.

The three-year designation signifies the unit has met national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award, according to the association.

“This prestigious recognition brings a level of assurance of excellence of care to the residents of Northeast Tarrant County and surrounding communities,” said Lucy Norris, M.S., R.N., vice president of patient care services and chief nursing officer for Texas Health HEB. “We’re proud that a national nursing organization has held up our CCU as a role model for critical care nationwide.”  

The award recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose continuous learning, and consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care, optimizes patient outcomes. For patients and their families, the Beacon Award signifies exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall satisfaction. The Beacon Award includes three levels:  Bronze, Silver and Gold.  Texas Health HEB’s CCU earned its Silver Award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for ExcellenceTM criteria:

•    Leadership Structures and Systems

•    Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement

•    Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development

•    Evidence-Based Practice and Processes

•    Outcome Measurement

            “Our CCU staff members are honored that their hard work, dedication and commitment to exceptional patient care have been recognized through the Beacon Award,” said Margaret Markey, B.S.N., R.N., CCRN, nursing manager for critical care, hemodialysis, cardiac stepdown and central monitoring at Texas Health HEB. “This is a tribute to every caregiver’s focus on providing high-quality, compassionate care to every patient.”    


About Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Hurst-Euless-Bedford
Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Hurst-Euless-Bedford is a 304-bed, acute-care facility serving Northeast Tarrant County since 1973. The hospital’s services include women’s services, a Level III neonatal intensive care unit, a dedicated oncology unit, comprehensive cardiac services (including cardiac rehabilitation), and behavioral health services through Texas Health Springwood Hospital. Texas Health HEB recently received Level III Trauma Center designation as well as dual accreditation as a Cycle IV Chest Pain Center and Heart Failure Center. The hospital also is accredited by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer, certified as a Primary Stroke Center and designated as a "Baby Friendly" facility by WHO and UNICEF.Texas Health HEB is an affiliate of the faith-based, nonprofit Texas Health Resources system. For more information, call 1-877-THR-WELL, or visit

Recognize 1182 Views
Related Posts